Mitsubishi MSX ML-F80

23 Dec

I recently aquired an 1983 MSX manufactured by Mitsubishi;

DSC_0081

It’s an MSX 1 with 64kb RAM I found some extra information here http://www.old-computers.com/museum/computer.asp?st=1&c=431

DSC_0086 DSC_0085 DSC_0087

Msx basic isn’t the same as the C64 basic, I had to to some research to write  a small basic script with my 7 year old son, but we succeeded 🙂

DSC_0089

Next find some cartridges to test the cartridge port, I never had an MSX when I was a child but a went to a local electorshop to try out their Sony hitbit which was on display. Remember playing some sort of ‘pitfall’ game on it. I have a hitbit in my collection but it isn’t in working condition.

Any Belgian retro-collectors out there who can lend me a cart ? They’re difficult to track-down on second-hand sites here.

Next time I dig up my Panasonic MSX together with  the Sony hitbit to complete the picture…

 

2 Responses to “Mitsubishi MSX ML-F80”

  1. Old School Game Blog 2014/06/01 at 5:59 pm #

    My first computer was actually an MSX, a SVI Spectravideo. It came with a 3.5″ floppy disk drive and cartridge port. Such a cool computer – I still have it today, so many years later. It still works too! 🙂 There are many great games on cartridge, so I recommend you look for Knightmare and Salamander. Those two are pure joy (at least in my opinion)! You can’t go wrong with a game called Blow Up! either, but I don’t know if that one is available on cartridge.

  2. https://twitter.com/TCBBrixham 2015/05/27 at 5:18 pm #

    You have got a proper ability for blogging. Totally enjoyed this read!

Leave a Reply

